CU Office of Student Activities presents annual awards

Cameron University’s Office of Student Activities presented awards to students, faculty and staff during a recent ceremony on the CU campus. The event included the announcement of the Top 20 Students, comprised of outstanding juniors and seniors, and the Top 10 Non-Traditional Students, made up of outstanding college students over the age of 25. A committee of faculty, staff and students selects honorees for both lists based on excellence in leadership, community service, campus involvement and academics. 

This year's Top 20 honorees, listed by hometown, are:

Anambra, Nigeria:  Stella Osunkwo

Cache:  Mariama Abramson

Chattanooga:  Nikki Kirk

Duncan: Sarah Vrla

Frederick: Kaley Patterson

Granite:  Sidney McCormack

Iowa Park, Texas:  Lilah Gilmore

Kathmandu, Nepal:  Alka Shrestha

Lagos, Nigeria:  Agnes Adekemi Ajose, Ifeoluwa Egbeyemi, Damilare Thomas

Lawton: Ashley Brinck, Jereme Cobb, Jacob Jardel, Casey Meek, Hannah Sawyers

Mountainburg, Ark.: Katelynn Wright

Ponce, Puerto Rico: Natalie Ruiz-Castillo

San Antonio, Texas: Holden Stewart Rowe

Snyder:  Madison Geiger

Making Cameron’s Top 10 list are:

Daytona Beach, Fla.:  Monica Witherspoon

Galveston Island, Texas:  Amelia Barr

Kaduna, Nigeria:  Samuel Emmanuel

Lawton:  Hafsa Farah, Paula Wilds

Marlow:  Emily Spivey

Saint Lucia:  Aldrick Biscette

San Diego, Calif.:  Katie Caughron

St. George’s, Grenada:  Nichole Cooper, Donnet L. Williams

Nikki Kirk, Chattanooga, was sworn in as president of the Student Government Association for 2015-16. Kelly High, Lawton, and Lacey Flaig, Lawton, were sworn in as vice president and treasurer, respectively.

Jacob Jardel, Lawton, was honored as Outstanding PAC New Member of the Year, and Sherina Owens, Geronimo, was recognized as Outstanding PAC Returning Member of the Year.

Major Pewenofkit of Elgin and Missy Stallcup of Chattanooga were named Intramural Players of the Year.

Dr. Doug Catterall, professor of history and government, was named Professor of the Year. Jenn Castricone, advisor for PRIDE, was named Student Organization Advisor of the Year. Debbie Mefford, Office of Student Services, was honored as Staff Member of the Year.

The Aggie Club was named Student Organization of the Year in addition to being recognized as a Five-Star Organization. Student organizations garnered points in the areas of organization and planning, campus programming, community service/philanthropy, and campus involvement. Additional Five-Star Organizations are Alpha Sigma Phi, Beta Beta Beta, Biology Club, CU Honors Students Society, CU International Club, CU Nigerian Student Association, MathCom, PRIDE and Sigma Tau Gamma.


April 27, 2015