Sigma Tau Delta welcomes new members, presents awards

The Cameron University Department of English and Foreign Languages recently welcomed seven new members to the Beta Omicron chapter of Sigma Tau Delta, the international English honor society. Sigma Tau Delta strives to confer distinction for high achievement in English language and literature in undergraduate, graduate, and professional studies.

Inducted into Sigma Tau Delta were Kathryn Adams, Zachary Ellis, Katherine Johnson, Rachel Patterson, and Tanya Salyers-Spangle, Lawton; and Wesley Jones and Vicki Smith, Marlow.

Zoie Timothy, Lawton, was elected president for 2015-16. Salyers-Spangler will serve as vice president, Jones will serve as secretary, and Smith will serve as treasurer.

Recent scholarship awards include the Geraldine Burns Award, presented by the Oklahoma Council for Teachers of English to Crystal D. Underwood, Lawton, and the Lawton Shakespeare Club Award, presented to Krista Hubbard, Lawton.

The following students were recognized for internships and student research; Temilade Adelusi, Ikorodu, Lagos, Nigeria; Oluwaseun Ayeni, Iju, Lagos, Nigeria; Aldrick Biscette, Gros-Islet, Saint Lucia; Breanne Holley, Altus; and Amelia Barr, Ashleigh Balog, Amanda Bell,  Katherine Johnson, Julie Nguyen, Gilberto Nunez, Rhiannon Poolaw, Zoie Timothy, all of Lawton.

Sigma Tau Delta, International English Honor Society, was founded in 1924 at Dakota Wesleyan University.


April 30, 2015