Phi Sigma Iota holds initiation banquet

Cameron University's Delta Rho Chapter of Phi Sigma Iota, the Foreign Language International Honor Society, welcomed eight new members during its recent Initiation Banquet.  Phi Sigma Iota recognizes outstanding ability and achievement in the study or teaching of academic fields related to foreign language, literature or culture. Inducted into the Delta Rho chapter were CU students Domonique Eleshin and Zachary Wallace, Lawton; Amber Holt, Skiatook; Jongduk Joung, Seoul, South Korea; Maria Laura López Gonzáles, Collier, Fla.; Yohan Silva, Elgin; Yuwan Yang, Wuhan, China; and CU faculty member Dr. John Hodgson.

Tiara A. Robinson, Lawton, will serve as the organization’s president for 2015-16, and Eleshin will serve as vice president. Jutta Carter, Assistant Director of the Language Lab, will serve as secretary. Dr. Marie-Ginette Baillargeon will serve as faculty advisor, and Dr. Teresa Lubrano will serve as treasurer.

Scholarship and awards were also presented during the ceremony. Geraldine Brady, Lawton, was awarded the Graziella Scholarship and the Delta Rho Benke Scholarship. Addison Rackler, Lawton, received a Delta Rho Benke Scholarship and a Flocci Non Facio Scholarship. Additional recipients of the Flocci Non Facio Scholarship are Beverly Perou, Elgin; Patrick Copeland, Zachary Ellis, Jessica Herrick, Katherine Johnson, and Zachary Smith, all of Lawton.

Founded in 1922, Phi Sigma Iota was the first language society to receive membership in the U.S. Association of College Honor Societies. Membership is by invitation only and is the highest academic honor in the field of foreign languages. The Delta Rho Chapter at Cameron University, chartered in May 1988, was the first Phi Sigma Iota chapter chartered in the state of Oklahoma.


April 23, 2015