Cameron University Department of Music recognizes students during annual awards ceremony

The Cameron University Department of Music celebrated the achievements of its students during a recent ceremony by presenting individual awards and recognizing 2015 graduates.

Lilah Gilmore, Iowa Park, Texas, received the Faculty Academic Award of Excellence.

J. Gardner, Tuttle, received the Concert Band Special Recognition Award. The Beth Adcock Award for the non-major music major in Concert Band was presented to Brittney Curtis, Lawton.

Percussion Ensemble awards were presented to Gilmore, Gus Echols, Duncan;  Jacob Downing, Poteau; Tyler Reeves, Denton, Texas; and Trenton Ford, Lawton.  

The Dave Sandstrom Award, epitomizing the consummate volunteer spirit, was presented to Tommy Agee, Duncan, and Peter Macias, Lawton. Macias also received the Director’s Leadership Award for participation in the Cameron Concert Choir

Kathryn Patterson-Adams, Lawton, received the Accompanying award, and Trevor Campbell, Lawton, was honored with the Guitar Ensemble award.

Lorenzo Butler and Jessica Fernandez, both of Lawton, received the Sunshine Award. Gabriel Caron, Altus, received the Best Volunteer Award.

For their participation in the Concert Choir, Macias, Alyson Hays, Marlow; Kirk Prucha, Duncan; and Prudence Rivera, Lawton, received Outstanding Section Leader awards.

Honored with the Outstanding Freshman award for vocal and choral performance were Lorenzo Butler and Haleigh Adams, Lawton.

Alyssa Yates, Elgin, and Jose Rodriguez, Lawton, were honored for Outstanding Opera Workshop Performance.

Rachel Fike and Diana Kirby, Lawton; Lance Martin, Foster; and Chelsea Fodder and Sarah McCoy, Walters, were honored with awards for Most Exemplary Chorister.

Members of the Centennial Singers received recognition with a special award. Lorenzo Butler, Caron, Fernandez, Hays, Macias, Kirk Prucha, Rivera, Rodriguez and Yates were the recipients, as were Nathanael Butler, Chelsea Jenkins, and Natasha Snavely, Lawton; and Anastasia Prucha, Duncan.

Additionally, a number of scholarships were awarded during the ceremony.

Kirby received the Kathryn Hickman Scholarship, established in 1978 by CU graduate Kathryn Hickman, as well as the Philip and Aldine Cash Endowed Scholarship. Campbell also received the latter. The Schubert Music Club Scholarship was presented to Echols and Lorenzo Butler.

Recipients of the Joel Wilkinson Endowed Scholarship in Music were Echols;  Nic Callen, Cache; Tabatha Den Dekker, Elgin; and Prezell Duckett, Joey Kinsman and Britnie Mendenhall, Lawton.

McMahon Foundation Scholarships were presented to Downing, Echols, Ford, Hays, Jenkins, Mendenhall, Reeves and Rodriguez as well as Natalie Finley, Jamie Hatcher, Shane Rutherford and Reagan Williams, Lawton; and Wesley Stafford, Altus.

The Comanche Nation Vocal Award Scholarship was presented to Adams, Lorenzo Butler, Nathanael Butler, Caron, Fernandez, Fodder, Macias, McCoy and Snavely as well as Meranda McClennen, Marlow; and Keith Sahr, Lawton.

The Department of Music also recognized this year’s graduating seniors. They are:

Bachelor of Arts

Lawton: Kathryn Patterson-Adams

Bachelor of Music

Duncan: Kirk Prucha,

Elgin: Alyssa Yates

Iowa Park, Texas: Lilah Gilmore

Kathmandu, Nepal:  Ashim Bohara

Lawton: Joey Kinsman, Prudence Rivera

Bachelor of Music Education

Lawton: Kathryn Burns, Jamie Hatcher, Jennifer Nixon

Marlow: Alyson Hays



May 5, 2015