Beta Beta Beta holds induction ceremony

The Cameron University Psi Eta chapter of Beta Beta Beta, the national biological honor society, recently welcomed new members to the organization. Beta Beta Beta is an honorary society which provides fellowship for biology students and promotes interest in graduate and professional studies.

Joining Beta Beta Beta as regular members were Mariama Abramson and Conner Sullins, Cache; Taiwo Adelusi and Oluwatoyin Kayode, Ikorodu, Nigeria;  Agnes Ajose, Ibeju-Lekki, Nigeria; Timothy Alaniz, Marlow; Brooke Armstrong, Boise, Idaho; Hafsa Farah, Joel Frambes, SooMi Kim, Patrick McAnerny, Jeremiah Scharfenberg, Nicole Wright, and Sonora Zukerman, Lawton; Angela Gibbons, Duncan; and

Pasang Hyolmo and Sijalu Paudel, Kathmandu, Nepal.  To be eligible for regular membership, students must major in biology, have at least 12 hours of biology courses, maintain a 3.0 GPA or higher in biological sciences and maintain an overall GPA of 2.5 or higher.

Associate memberships are offered to undergraduate students who have an interest in the life sciences, but do not yet qualify for regular membership. New associate members are Aaron Bevington, Lacey Flaig, Tianna Gladden, Tiffany Jett Carter and Jeein Yoon, Lawton; Ifeoluwa Egbeyemi, Isolo, Nigeria; Marshall Ferron, Dill City; and Sujana Rupakheti, Makawanpur, Nepal.

Members promoted from associate to regular membership are Victoria Boudiette and Saranah Isenberg, Lawton; and Renea Lawler, Duncan.

Officers for Beta Beta Beta for 2015-16 are: President, Holden Rowe, Cache; Vice President, Renea Lawler, Duncan; Secretary, Brianna Hall, Lawton; Treasurer, Jeremiah Scharfenberg, Lawton; Historian, Saranah Isenberg, Lawton; and SGA Representative, Victoria Boudiette, Lawton

The organization also recognized this year’s graduating seniors. They are:

Bachelor of Science in Biology with a concentration in Organismal Biology

Geronimo:  Hannah Richards

Sterling:  Kathryn Parsley

Bachelor of Science in Biology with a concentration in Cellular and Molecular Biology

Duncan:  Ellie Carter

Ikorodu, Nigeria:  Taiwo Adelusi

Isolo, Nigeria:  Ifeoluwa Egbeyemi

Lawton:  Hafas Farah, Tianna Gladden, SooMi Kim, Adrienne Wells



May 7,l 2015