CU student wins student leadership award

Ryan FaucettCameron University student Ryan Faucett was honored last weekend with the National Association for Campus Activities Central Outstanding Student Leader Award, presented during the NACA Central Regional Conference in Tulsa. The Lawton native, a junior majoring in business administration, was the only student recognized with this award and was selected from all of the colleges and universities represented in the Central Region, which encompasses Oklahoma, Texas, Kansas, Arkansas and Louisiana as well as parts of Missouri, Colorado and Mexico. Over 70 schools were present at the conference.

 "Ryan is bright, talented, enthusiastic and confident - in short, he's an exceptional representative of Cameron University," says Jennifer Holland, Dean of Student Services. "The Outstanding Student Leader Award is a prestigious honor, and we are so proud of Ryan for exemplifying the qualities required for consideration. He is a much deserving recipient whose leadership abilities make him a role model for all Cameron students."

 The NACA Central Outstanding Student Leader Award honors a student who is currently enrolled at a NACA member school in the Central Region, provides outstanding service to a programming organization on campus, provides innovative or creative efforts with the institution, is active in NACA regional or national activities and is actively involved in other campus and/or community organizations.

 Faucett is in his second year as co-chair of CU's Programming Activities Council, a student-run organization in which student volunteers are involved in the planning and development of campus events for all Cameron students. He is member of the Presidential Leader University Scholars (PLUS) program and is active in the Student Government Association and Beta Rho, a student organization that promotes pride and spirit in CU and gives back to the community. He currently serves as a representative on the Student Housing Association and has participated on a number of committees.


October 24, 2008
PR# 08-182