Veterans Day Flags in Bentley Gardens

We the People...for the Common Good

Background and Purpose

We the People ... for the Common Good

Among the more than 190 countries worldwide that are recognized by the United Nations, 123 are said to be democratic. The governments of these countries are characterized by the participation of its people, under whatever form that may be. But what do we mean when we talk about democracy and what are the implications?

The word ‘democracy» can be traced to Greek and it is made up with two other words demos= People and kratein= to govern, to rule. Hence, Democracy on a basic level can be defined as Government of the People or Government of the Majority. It is different from other forms of government like a monarchy, aristocracy and dictatorship. In Abraham Lincoln’s famous words, democracy is ‘the government of the people, by the people and for the people’? This broad description of democracy has important implication for those who live in it. To facilitate democratic government and sustain its health, it requires an informed citizenry and capable public officials.

We acknowledge that not everyone can be well informed and that those who seek elected or appointed public offices are well prepared or informed as they can be about the duties, responsibilities, and limitations of the office. In an effort to strengthen democratic government and civic engagement in the United States and especially in the State of Oklahoma, We the People...for the Common Good, as non-partisan and non-policy based program, aims at providing comprehensive information about the duties and responsibilities of elected and appointed officials in Oklahoma at the state, county, and municipal level of government.

Scope and Road Ahead


We the People...for the Common Good serves as a central clearinghouse to identify, learn, and gain valuable insights about the duties, responsibilities, and experiences of elected and appointed officials in Oklahoma at the state, county, and municipal level of government.

Road Ahead

Data collection has begun and currently focuses on southwest Oklahoma. Accordingly, Comanche County and its surrounding counties have served as the point of departure for data collection at the county level. Ultimately, anyone interested in government and seeking careers in this noble enterprise will be able to download the respective county data across the state by using the interactive county map below. In addition to the county level data, information about elected and appointed officials will be expanded to include municipal and state level data as well as video interviews with former public officials.

Interactive County Map

Map of counties in Oklahoma

Cimarron Texas Beaver Harper Woods Alfalfa Grant Kay Osage Washington Nowata Craig Ottawa Ellis Woodward Major Garfield Noble Pawnee Rogers Mayes Delaware Roger Mills Dewey Custer Blaine Kingfisher Logan Payne Creek Tulsa Wagoner Cherokee Adair Beckham Washita Caddo Canadian Grady Oklahoma Lincoln Cleveland McClain Pottawatomie Seminole Ofuskee Okmulgee McIntosh Muskogee Sequoyah Harmon Greer Kiowa Comanche Stephens Garvin Carter Murray Pontotoc Johnston Hughes Coal Pittsburg Haskell Latimer Leflore Jackson Tillman Cotton Jefferson Love Marshall Bryan Atoka Pushmataha Choctaw McCurtain

Managing Editor

Dr. Tony Wohlers
Oklahoma Politics
Cameron University

The Oklahoma Political Science Association (OPSA) is the professional organizations of Oklahoma political scientists and practitioners. Drawing on political scientists and practitioners from across the state, the OPSA brings together scholars from all fields of inquiry and occupational endeavors within and outside academe in order to expand understanding of politics and policies. As a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization, your donation to the Oklahoma Political Science Association is tax deductible.