Oklahoma Politics

Scope and Purpose

The Oklahoma Politics journal explores the broad context of politics affecting Oklahoma and its place in the surrounding region.  We are especially interested in submissions that bring to bear a variety of methodological, analytical, and disciplinary perspectives on state and local politics of the central-south region of the United States: Oklahoma, Kansas, Colorado, New Mexico, Texas, Arkansas, and Louisiana.  Because “politics” cannot be thoroughly explored from only a single disciplinary point of view trans-disciplinary and collaborative projects are encouraged.

Though we are the journal of the Oklahoma Political Science Association, we encourage submissions from economists, sociologists, environmental scientists, policymakers, analysts, as well as political scientists and other scientists and practitioners whose substantive research bears on the politics and issues of the state and region.

Oklahoma Politics is a fully peer reviewed journal.  Each submission receives at least three anonymous reviews and each is reviewed by the editors before a decision is made to accept a manuscript for publication.OKL

Call for Manuscripts

Oklahoma Politics is soliciting manuscripts for its Volume 24, November 2014 issue. To download the specific manuscript preparation and submission guidelines, click here. The manuscript submission deadline is June 27, 2014.


For inquiries and manuscript submission please contact:

Dr. Tony Wohlers
Editor of Oklahoma Politics
Office of Academic Enrichment
Cameron University
Lawton, OK 73505
Phone: 580-581-2496
E-mail: awohlers@cameron.edu

Digital Archive

During the annual Oklahoma Political Science Association Meeting in November, the most current volume of Oklahoma Politics is made available to registered conference participants. In addition, all the previous volumes of Oklahoma Politics, which go back to its first volume published in 1992, are now available in full text format through a searchable online archive. To access the Oklahoma Politics digital archive, click here

Editorial Board

As part of the annual conference in November, the most recent volume of Oklahoma Politics is provided to registered conference participants.

Gary Copeland OU copeland@os.edu
Robert Darcy OSU bob.darcy@okstate.edu
Rick Farmer OID Rick.Farmer@oid.ok.gov
Jan Hardt UCO jhardt@ucok.edu
Ken Hicks RSU KennethHicks@rsu.edu
Tony Litherland OBU Tony.Litherland@obu.edu
Christine Pappas ECU cpappas@ecok.edu
Brett Sharp UCO bsharp@uco.edu
John Ulrich ECU julrich@mailclerk.ecok.edu
Tony Wohlers CU awohlers@cameron.edu
John Wood UCO jwood41@uco.edu

Oklahoma Politics

OPSA's Peer-Reviewed Journal

Executive Director

Managing Editor

Dr. Tony Wohlers
Oklahoma Politics
Cameron University
awohlers@cameron.edu
580-581-2496

The Oklahoma Political Science Association (OPSA) is the professional organizations of Oklahoma political scientists and practitioners. Drawing on political scientists and practitioners from across the state, the OPSA brings together scholars from all fields of inquiry and occupational endeavors within and outside academe in order to expand understanding of politics and policies. As a federally registered non-profit organization, membership is open to anyone with an interest in the state's politics.