Speaker Biographies

Mark Meo Mark Meo is Professor of Sustainability Science and Policy. His research interests include environmental policy analysis and innovation, technological innovation of energy systems, watershed management and decision making, and sustainable development. At present, he is collaborating with several OU faculty on an urban flooding project and is a co-investigator in the joint OU-LSU NOAA-sponsored research project, the Southern Climate Impacts Planning Program. Prof. Meo joined the OU faculty in 1985 after completing a 2-year postdoctoral fellowship in marine policy at the Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution. From 1985 to 2009, Meo was Professor of Civil Engineering and Environmental Science and a Science and Public Policy Research Fellow. He served as Director of the Science and Public Policy Program from 1995-2000. In that capacity, he secured several million dollars in competitive research awards to support cross-disciplinary teams that included faculty members from five OU colleges, Oklahoma State University, and several corporate partners, including Conoco, DuPont, and GE. Meo holds a B.A. degree in biology from Northeastern University; an M.S. in marine sciences from Louisiana State University, and a Ph.D. in ecology and environmental policy analysis from the University of California at Davis.  
Susan Postawko Susan Postawko is Associate Professor and her interests include radiative transfer in planetary atmospheres; atmosphere-surface interactions; volatile history of the planets; early and present climates of Earth and Mars; and climate evolution of the terrestrial planets. Current projects include modeling the effects on martian climate history of sulfur dioxide released by volcanoes, and the fate of water vapor released by Martian volcanoes. Dr. Postawko is co-coordinator of the Schools of the Pacific Rainfall Climatology Experiment (SPaRCE), a research/education project to study climate change in the Pacific, and teach students in various Pacific island nations about climate and the implications of global change. Dr. Postawko was named Outstanding Professor in the College of Geosciences by the University of Oklahoma Student Association in 1994 and 1996. In addition to being a faculty member in the School of Meteorology, she also serves as the Assistant Director of the NASA/Oklahoma Space Grant Consortium.
Hopper Smith is the Director of Public Affairs for Devon Energy in Oklahoma City.  For the past two decades he has served in a variety of roles pertaining to natural resources, public policy, and national security.  Originally from Tulsa, Hopper Smith was elected to the Oklahoma House of Representatives in 1996, serving on House Energy and Appropriations committees.  In 2003, he resigned from the House when his National Guard unit was mobilized for deployment to Afghanistan.  Hopper returned and for the next ten years served in several capacities including: Director of Government Relations for Chesapeake Energy, President of the Oklahoma Council of Public Affairs (Oklahoma’s free-market think tank), as a public affairs consultant on regional water issues, and a second combat deployment to Afghanistan.  Hopper Smith has a B.S. in Geology from Oklahoma State University and an M.S. in Strategic Intelligence from the National Defense Intelligence College in Washington, DC.  He has three minor published works on energy and national security.
Dr. Tony Wohlers Dr. Tony Wohlers is a Associate Professor of Political Science at Cameron University. His academic work, conference participation, and publishing focus on water management policies, e-government, biotechnology's role in society, and economic development policy. Within the broader context of research and administrative responsibilities, he continues to encourage undergraduate research on the campus of Cameron University by involving students in Oklahoma Research Day and other professional conferences as well as providing students with opportunities to engage in research activities with faculty. He holds a Ph.D. in Political Science from Northern Illinois University.