Nance Boyer South - Education Department

Department of Education

Welcome from the Chair of the Education Department

Welcome to the Department of Education at Cameron University. Cameron offers Bachelor of Science degrees in early childhood, elementary, and secondary education. Secondary education programs are offered in biology, English, mathematics,and social studies. Elementary/secondary programs are offered in romance languages and music.

We also offer a Master’s of Education with options in secondary, special education, literacy, teaching and learning, and elementary math specialist. You can also pursue an advanced degree in reading or educational leadership.

Cameron's Department of Education is proud of our diverse faculty and expect all faculty members to hold high academic standards, exhibit a strong work ethic, and model the characteristics of caring, competent, and committed teachers.

Dr. Jennifer Dennis


Dr. Jennifer Dennis
Chair, Education Department


Education Department Mission Statement

The Department of Education believes that competent, caring, and committed educators are successful in their careers.

  • Educators who are competent use pedagogical and content knowledge to support learning for all, provide instruction based on standards and student needs, and use assessment and strategies for active engagement so that all can learn.
  • Educators who are caring are responsive to individual needs and create learning environments that promote positive social interactions and motivation.
  • Educators who are committed collaborate with others by using effective communication skills while being reflective decision makers and lifelong learners who are willing to change in order to continuously improve.

We believe that all of these qualities are fostered through standards-based coursework with coordinated field experiences.

conceptual framework graphicNCATE logo

Headlines and Announcements

CU Grads Named LPS Teacher of the Year and Rookie of the Year

Congratulations to Cheryl Tate (class of 1978) and Nicole Merriweather (class of 2013) for being named Teacher of the Year and Rookie of the Year by Lawton Public Schools.  We are proud of these outstanding graduates for their dedication to children and our community.

CU Graduates Recognized as Teachers of the Year for Bishop Public Schools

Carole Morris received her B.S. in Elementary Education in 2012 and Elizabeth Martin received her M.Ed. in 2002.  We are proud of our outstanding alumni!

Dr Smith Receives Award for Excellence and Innovation in University Service

Dr. Smith receiving the Award for Excellence and Innovation in University Science at the 2014 Faculty Awards Reception.

Dr. Michelle Smith was honored with the Award for Excellence and Innovation in University Science at the 2014 Faculty Awards Reception. We are proud to have Dr. Smith as a faculty member in the Department of Education.

Ashley Woody, Elementary Education Major, Named DaVinci Scholar

Ashley Woody, Elementary Education Major, Named DaVinci Scholar

Here's a look at Ashley Woody, elementary education major, receiving her DaVinci Scholar award at the banquet in OKC on March 28th. She also received $1000. Her proposal was for a service project where her students would work with veterans to learn history.

Representative Coody Visits Reading Diagnosis Course at Pat Henry Elementary

Representative Coody Visits Reading Diagnosis Course at Pat Henry Elementary

Representative Ann Coody visited our Reading Diagnosis class at Pat Henry Elementary on Friday, March 28th.  She was able to visit with our teacher education candidates as they worked with Pat Henry students in reading.  Tyler Blount, an Elementary Education major, is featured working with Representative Coody and her student who is practicing site words through a Phineas and Ferb board game.

Open House by Education Department

Home Coming by the Education Department

Cameron Students and Faculty Represented at Oklahoma Council for the Social Studies Conference

Dr. Michelle Smith and Dr. Jennifer Holloway took several education students to the Oklahoma Council for the Social Studies Conference. Students were able to network with others and learn new ideas to implement in their future classrooms.

Dr. Michelle Smith and Dr. Jennifer Holloway and students at the Oklahoma Council for the Social Studies Conference.

LPS Selects Former Cameron Graduates for Leadership Roles

Two recent graduates from the Education Department's Master of Science in Education Leadership program were named Lawton Public School principals. Having earned the M.S. in Education Leadership degree in 2009 and 2010 respectively, Stan Melby and Jennifer Foster were approved for their new positions by the board of education, though they have yet to be assigned a school. Congratulations to you both.

Lawton Public School Awards Received by Cameron Alumni

Cameron alumnus, Dana Moore (M.S. Education Leadership 2012), has been selected as Lawton Public School's Teacher of the Year, and will represent LPS for the 2013-2014 school year. Also, Angelina Baker (B.S. Elementary Education 2012) has been named the 2013 Lawton Public School's Rookie Teacher of the Year. Congratulations to the both of you for your achievement, and for representing Cameron University and the Department of Education so well.

SECE Participates in Abuse Awareness Campaign

In recognition of the victims of child abuse, the SECE recently participated in the Blue Ribbon Tree for Kids campaign sponsored by the Oklahoma State Department of Health-Child Abuse Prevention (CAP) Action Committee. The students have hung blue ribbons in a tree on campus shown in the picture below. Each ribbon represents a child who was the victim of abuse and/or neglect in Comanche County during 2012. Blue Ribon Tree

Juniors and Seniors Selected for Academic Excellence

Recently, several students from the Department of Education were selected for membership into Phi Kappa Phi, the nation's oldest and largest collegiate honor society. Phi Kappa Phi scholars are selected from the top 7.5% of juniors and the top 10% of seniors and graduate students. The list of students include Barry Ballard, Dawn Bona, Joan Gabelmann, Crystal Guest, Jennie Hanna, Philip Muse, William Schlecht, Josie Stewart, Vivian Arroyo, Jennifer Berry (RSU), Alyssa Patterson, Brena Risner, Karen Strachan, Tameka Williams, Brittney Wilson (RSU), Lisa Blythe (RSU), Samantha Butler (RSU), Shaila Chambers, Kaci Clippinger, Shelby Crow, Matt Harris, James Jones, Sierra Kovacs, Rebecca Landoll, and Jeni Lewis.

Education Alumni Awarded for Outstanding Performance

Recently, the Altus Board of Education recognized the district’s Teachers of the Year and among the recipients were several Aggie alumnus. Jammie Hamm (B.S. Elem Ed 2000) and Joyce Frederick (B.S. Elem Ed 1989) received the honor. Also, Melissa Parson (B.S. Elem Ed 1994), who was selected in 2008 for the distinction, was recognized this year as a district finalist.

Cameron Alumni Earn National Certification

The National Board for Professional Teaching Standards annually awards national certification status to teachers who meet the rigorous requirements set by the association. This year two Cameron graduates, Susan Hohstadt (B.S. Elem Ed 1990) and Debbie Arthur (B.S. Elem Ed 1989), along with a former Cameron student teaching mentor, Stacie Garrett, were granted the high distinction.

Click here for past headlines & announcements!

Student Teacher Recognition
Click to see pictures from our student teacher recognition events.

Contact Information

Nance Boyer, Room 1078
2800 W. Gore Blvd.
Lawton, OK 73505
580.581.2320 Voice
580.581.2865 Fax